Announcing the finalists for 2020 AMA Artisan Awards

Recognising the success of Aotearoa’s behind-the-scenes music talent   For the fifth year running, Recorded Music NZ and Massey University will celebrate the unsung heroes of Aotearoa’s music industry at the AMA Artisan Awards this November. Due to the uncertainty surrounding a live audienc

  • Mark

Announcing the Aotearoa Music Awards

New branding and spirit for New Zealand’s flagship music awards Today marks the launch of the Aotearoa Music Awards, introducing a new era for Recorded Music New Zealand’s annual music awards. Developed by creative agency LIKEMINDS in collaboration with specialist Māori concept and creative stu

  • Mark

Aotearoa Music Producer Series

Applications now open for the 5th New Zealand Music Producer Series – October 26 to November 6th, 2020. Thanks to the ongoing support of our music industry partners: Recorded Music New Zealand; The New Zealand Music Commission; NZ On Air; SAE Auckland; Auckland Unesco City Of Music and the Mus

  • Mark

Introducing the Music Producers Guild

During an era of constant change in the music industry, the goal of the Music Producers Guild of New Zealand / Aotearoa (MPG NZ) is to inform music producers of their rights, help secure income streams, provide contracts for production and mixing, plus information on royalties and residual income

  • Mark

Tui time: Nominations open for the 56th Music Awards

Recorded Music New Zealand announce nominations are now open for the 56th New Zealand Music Awards | Ngā Tohu Puoro o Aotearoa. Damian Vaughan, Recorded Music New Zealand CEO, says it’s more important than ever to celebrate the incredible music coming out of Aotearoa. “COVID-19 has devastated o

Announcing 2020’s Best Jazz Artist and Best Jazz Composition winners

Today we celebrate the winners of the Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa|Best Jazz Artist and the APRA Best Jazz Composition. Dixon Nacey was awarded Best Jazz Artist Tui for his 2019 album The Edge of Chaos, while Jake Baxendale received the APRA Best Jazz Composition award for his work ‘T

Recognising the achievements of the 2020 Country Music Award winners

New Zealand’s top country music achievements were announced today with Delaney Davidson & Barry Saunders receiving the Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa Tui | Best Country Music Artist and Tami Neilson taking out the APRA Best Country Song for ‘Hey Bus Driver!’. With the 2020 Cou


APRA AMCOS and Recorded Music NZ are all wiggly with excitement to announce the winners for the 2020 NZ Children’s Music Awards – celebrating music written for children. APRA Best Children’s Song – Kath Bee and Doug Stenhouse for I Love Life (feat. Joelle) Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuo

Announcing the finalists for the 2020 Best Jazz Artist

The 2020 finalists for the Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa | Best Jazz Artist and APRA Best Jazz Composition were announced today, showcasing a hugely talented and diverse pool of Aotearoa musicians. The creativity of New Zealand’s jazz scene is exemplified by this year’s finalists for

Celebrating Aotearoa’s outstanding country musicians

Today, Recorded Music NZ and APRA are proud to recognise the outstanding contributions to New Zealand’s country music scene from the past year. The finalists for Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa | Best Country Music Artist are Delaney Davidson and Barry Saunders, Katie Thompson and Kend